Welcome to “Baby Agape!”

Image

It finally happened, our fourth and final baby was born!

She was healthy, stubborn (twisted in a funny way, and refused to come out for hours!), ravenously hungry, and absolutely beautiful.

So far, she’s the easiest baby of them all–she only cries when she’s being undressed or changed.  She’s so precious and sweet and snuggly…yeah, she’s amazing. And we’re not biased in this house at allll. 😀  I can’t believe she’s ours.

My in-laws came for a while, and pampered us and spoiled us rotten.  I don’t have a single piece of dirty laundry in the house, and until this morning, I didn’t have a single dirty dish.  I was able to just rest, recover, bond with my new baby, and surprisingly, begin to enjoy the dynamics of having [by modern standards] a very large family. 

One of my most painful emotional memories from middle school was being squished between a bunch of students that I barely knew on the bus during an eight-hour school trip.  I remember wishing I was around people who loved me, that I could just be accepted, and that I would be “comfortably squished” among a lot of friends and family.  I never felt that way, in my home or among my peers.

Strangely, now I’m piled up with a ton of kids that I never expected to have, and certainly never thought I’d be any good at parenting—and I’m comfortably squished among so much love that it’s overwhelming.  We love and accept them, and they know it.

So, hopefully I’ll be back to blogging soon.  I’ve been so surprised by the response to some of the articles, and I was honored beyond belief to have my story posted as a “Resource for Children of Domestic Violence” at  “A Cry For Justice.”  Once that happened, I realized that there are good things I can contribute to the survivor community, now that I’ve been out of my family of origin for more than a decade, and I deeply want to help others coming out of the situation I was in.

God bless all of you!

Taylor Joy

 

One thought on “Welcome to “Baby Agape!”

Leave a Reply

